DUI

What happens after a DUI arrest in West Palm Beach?

By
Gregory Salnick
August 3, 2020

Driving in Florida is a privilege that can be lost. When our clients are arrested for driving under the influence in West Palm Beach, or DUI, they face serious penalties ranging from a temporary vehicle impoundment and community service, to much harsher consequences like permanent license revocation and mandatory prison time.

Driving in Florida is a privilege that can be lost. When our clients are arrested for driving under the influence in West Palm Beach, or DUI, they face serious penalties ranging from a temporary vehicle impoundment and community service, to much harsher consequences like permanent license revocation and mandatory prison time.

Under the Florida criminal statutes, DUI charges apply when an individual has a blood alcohol level (BAC) for 0.8 percent or higher - a threshold that legally constitutes impairment. It is illegal (not to mention, dangerous or even deadly) to operate a vehicle while impaired.

Here is what you can expect if you are arrested for DUI in West Palm Beach.

DUI Penalties in West Palm Beach

Criminal penalties for DUI will vary based on the circumstances. In Florida, a DUI conviction may involve a combination of jail time, probation, or community service. 

DUI Charges for First Time Offenders in West Palm Beach

If the DUI was a misdemeanor offense and was your first, your penalties will be less severe. If there were no injuries, property damage, or other criminal activity involved, you may face penalties such as:

  • License revocation for a minimum of six months
  • Up to six months in jail (nine months if a passenger under age 18 was in the car with you OR if your BAC was at or above .15 percent)
  • Fines of up to $1,000
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device, or IID, in your car once your license is restored

Florida judges may also order probation for convicted first offenders. You will also be expected to complete at least fifty community service hours in connection with your probation, and will face vehicle impoundment for up to ten days.

First time offenders may also be eligible for the Palm Beach County First Time DUI Offender Program.

Charges for Multiple DUI Offenses in West Palm Beach

Repeat DUI offenders in West Palm Beach will face steeper punishments, from mandatory minimum prison sentences to the permanent loss of driving privileges.

Second time in West Palm Beach offenders will face the following penalties:

  • A fine of up to $2,000
  • A jail sentence of up to nine months
  • A minimum sentence of ten days if convicted within five years of a first offense
  • Vehicle impoundment for 30 days
  • License revocation for six months
  • A five-year license revocation if convicted within five years of a first offense

Third-time offenders in West Palm Beach will face the following penalties:

  • A fine of up to $5,000 if convicted within ten years of a first offense
  • A jail sentence of up to 12 months, with a minimum sentence of 30 days if convicted within ten years of a first offense
  • Vehicle impoundment for 90 days if convicted within ten years of a first offense
  • License revocation for five years, or a ten-year license revocation if convicted within ten years of a first offense

Experienced West Palm Beach DUI Attorneys on Your Side

At Salnick & Fuchs, we are experienced West Palm Beach DUI attorneys who know how to handle DUI cases. We will examine your case and equip you with the knowledge you need to make an informed decision about how to proceed, whether through seeking a plea bargain or by going to trial. Contact us today for a free consultation.

Gregory Salnick

Mr. Salnick is a Florida Board Certified Specialist in Criminal Law. He began his legal career at the Palm Beach County State Attorney’s Office where he prosecuted over 90 jury trials, ranging from DUI to murder, armed robbery and drug trafficking. Mr. Salnick quickly gained a reputation as a tenacious and ethical attorney at law. Mr. Salnick now serves as state and federal criminal defense attorney at Salnick & Fuchs, P.A.

Call us today at
561-471-1000