DUI Attorney West Palm Beach
Driving Under the Influence (DUI): Under Florida law, DUI charges consist of having a blood alcohol level of 0.8 or higher, which is considered impaired. A DUI charge in Florida can be very confusing and complex without competent representation. Our DUI Attorneys will provide you with the legal knowledge necessary to make the right decision regarding your DUI defense. If you have been arrested for DUI, understanding your rights is the most important factor in determining how you resolve your case. In Florida, driving is a privilege and not a right. When one is arrested for the Driving Under the Influence of drugs or alcohol, the privilege to drive can be taken away from them. Florida has some of the harshest DUI penalties which can include jail time, probation, driver’s license suspension, DUI school, alcohol evaluation, treatment, vehicle impoundment, community service, fines and court costs. At the Law Offices of Salnick & Fuchs, our dedicated DUI Attorneys will thoroughly examine your case and provide you with the knowledge necessary to make a well informed decision. Our DUI Attorneys will seek the best possible resolution for your case, whether by plea bargain or going to trial The Law Offices of Salnick & Fuchs, P.A. will provide you with the best DUI Defense possible.
Arrested For DUI Charges
DMV License Revocation: After being arrested for DUI charges, you only have 10 days to take action until the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles tries to suspend your driver’s license. If one does not act during these ten days (not business days), there will be DUI penalties including the potential suspension of their license. You have 10 days from the date of your arrest to request an administrative hearing at the Department of Motor Vehicles in order to prevent your driver’s license from being suspended.
DUI Penalties Florida
DUI First Offense
Fine of $500 – $1,000
Jail sentence of up to 6 months or probation for up to a year
Mandatory 50 hours of community service
Vehicle impoundment for 10 days
License revocation for a minimum of 6 months
DUI Second Offense
Fine of $1,000 – $2,000
Jail sentence of up to 9 months
Minimum sentence of 10 days if convicted within 5 years of a first offense
Vehicle impoundment for 30 days
License revocation for a minimum of 6 months
5-year license revocation if convicted within 5 years of a first offense
DUI Third Offense
Fine of $1,000 – $2,500
Fine of $2,000 – $5,000 if convicted within 10 years of a first offense
Jail sentence of up to 12 months
Minimum sentence of 30 days if convicted within 10 years of a first offense
Vehicle impoundment for 90 days if convicted within 10 years of a first offense
License revocation for 5 years
10-year license revocation if convicted within 10 years of a first offense
DUI Fourth Offense
Minimum fine of $1,000
Prison sentence of up to 5 years
Mandatory permanent license revocation (not eligible for hardship license)
Repeat DUI Offenders
Repeat DUI Offenders – If this is your second or third DUI within a certain time frame, there are minimum and mandatory sentences that will be applied.
Free Legal Consultation For DUI Charges
Speak With An Experienced DUI Attorney
If you are facing DUI charges, contact the Law Offices of Salnick & Fuchs, P.A., immediately at 561-471-1000 to help guide you during this difficult time. Time is of the essence with a DUI arrest so do not wait to contact an experienced DUI Attorney. DUI’s are very complex, confusing, and time sensitive. Our experienced criminal defense attorney’s will make sure your case is investigated thoroughly, and will make sure the actions of law enforcement were in accordance with the law. Whether it is a DUI first offense or subsequent charge, Salnick & Fuchs are here to help. We will inform you of any defense strategy that can help your case. We can also be reached by cell phone number 561-252-4486 or 561-379-9690, twenty four hours a day, seven days a week.
DUI Attorney With Experience In DUI Charges
What Is A Felony DUI
A person can be charged with a felony DUI if this is your third conviction in a ten year period or it’s your fourth DUI. This is a third degree felony which is punishable by up to 5 years in prison. If you are facing a felony DUI charge contact The Law Offices of Salnick & Fuchs, P.A. and speak with an experienced attorney about building your DUI defense.
DUI With Bodily Injury
When a person who is Driving Under the Influence is involved in an accident where someone is seriously hurt, they can be charged with DUI causing serious bodily injury. Under Florida law, DUI with serious bodily injury is a third degree felony which carries a statutory maximum penalty of 5 years in Florida State Prison and a $5,000.00 fine. A conviction for DUI with serious bodily injury will result in a court ordered minimum three year suspension or revocation of your Florida driver’s license which does not begin until after your incarcerated sentence.
If a person driving under the influence of alcohol or controlled substances causes an accident in which someone is killed, they can be charged with DUI Manslaughter. Under Florida Law, DUI Manslaughter is a second degree felony which carries a statutory maximum penalty of 15 years in Florida State Prison and punishable by a mandatory minimum prison term of 4 years in Florida State Prison. A conviction can also result in significant fines, increased insurance rates, and the revocation of your Florida driving privileges.
Vehicular homicide, also known as vehicular manslaughter, is an accusation that a driver killed another human being by operating a motor vehicle in a reckless manner likely to cause death or great bodily harm to another. Vehicular homicide is a felony of the second degree punishable by up to fifteen years in Florida State Prison. The offense can be enhanced to a first degree felony punishable by up to thirty years in Florida State Prison if it is alleged that the driver left the scene and failed to give information or render aid.